Basically, I can tell you in English everything I learned, I can tell you the words I learned, I recognise them when they are spoken. All the way up to chapter 10 of our Japanese school book. From Chapter 11 onwards, everything is blank. Why? I changed methods and started rote learning, started memorising, and sure I was a good student with a 82% average but everything stops there. I can’t express myself without turning the whole experience into a mathematical problem. I now really understood how a lot of my Chinese school mates from mainland China succeeded in written English and were very rigid when it came to spoken English. Thus confirming that when you are learning a language you are essentially learning at least 2 ways of communicating; written communication and oral communication.

Seeing as my weakness is often sticking too close to the written word and believing deep down inside that the only way to feel like I am improving my language learning experience is by writing and reading and so on and not trusting my hearing. A change needs to be made! My emphasis will be on listening and developing the auditory learner in me, in doing so I will become more eco-friendly too. non?

Now the way we were taught in Japanese class, is the way in which I was taught Spanish at GCSEs level. That method worked for me. Whenever I thought about Spanish,  learnt it through English and I would relate Spanish to Latin and never to French. I am not sure why I never consciously linked it to French but I remember that I would always refer to my Latin books. At GCSEs level I had already completed four years of Latin and continued with Latin until AS level. (A total of six years of Latin).

Since we are talking about Latin, I must thank Mrs. Crotchett who taught me at Godstowe Preparatory School (Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom) for introducing me to Latin at the age of ten and thoroughly enjoying it with her. I would also like to thank her soooooo much for also driving me and helping me choose my secondary schools, Roedean. A Great Lady!!! I always think about her and the fact that we both thought that one of the most beautiful verbs in Latin was appropinquare, which means to approach.

Chinese learning diary. Next post: Where do you start? Previous post: Where do you start?

