Hey guys!!

2012 is right around the corner 😀

For some of us it is in a couple of days and others it was a month ago (26th of November) for those of us following the Islamic calendar.

I am trying to figure out how to use this blog as a way of sharing my interests, providing you with information that you may not have and so on. My time is limited and although I am enjoying this blog I think it is important to emphasise that this blog is first and foremost a Chinese language learning tool to me. I am creating the type of blog I wish I had come across many years ago. Instead of waiting further, I am doing it myself.

The other thing I must mention, I am not a fan of Romance languages. There are so many Romance language blogs out there, I feel it would be a waste of my cyber space plot and time to cover them here. So please forgive me if you are looking for any ‘real’ information on learning French or Spanish. I may cover these languages from time to time in a random post but I won’t dedicate a page or blogroll to them for now. There is a wealth of information out there so don’t worry, you will find what you are looking for. That said, the BBC is a good place to start.

As for my ethnicity, I belong to a tribe called the Yoruba (approximately 40 million people  worldwide). My mother is Yoruba, I am a Yoruba girl from Nigeria. Unlike Mama, I do not speak the Yoruba language and like Mama (a Christian by default) I do not practise the Yoruba religion but I still identify with my group.

As for my interests, they range from music to pure randomness.

I am a fan of the Hausa language (spoken in Nigeria, Niger) and have provided links to Hausa language resources. I am also a fan of many other languages spoken by tribes around the world. You will find links to the Cree language in the blogroll section.

Entertainment wise, I would recommend you check out Nollywood films under the Watch online link.

 

In the meantime,check out the trailer of a new Nollywood film shot in India and Nigeria about love, determination and race.



For your information

Bollywood (India) and  Nollywood (Nigeria) have recently been ranked the first and second  largest movie industries respectively. 

According to the site: My Lagos blog 

Nollywood is Second largest film industry in the world – (UNESCO latest ranking)

A study published by the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS), states that Bollywood –popular name of the Mumbai-based film industry – produced 1,091 films in 2006, compared to the 872 productions created by Nollywood –Nigerian film industry. The United States’ number of production reaches 485 films in the same year. 56 per cent of Nollywood films are made in local languages, but English remains a strong language, which may contribute to Nigeria’s success in exporting its film industry. Development of video techniques has provoked a reduction of production costs and this has make possible the explosion of new film industries around the world, particularly in developing countries. 

 

Well until next time, I wish you a prosperous New Year my friends!

xx

